Tuesday’s Result

Vipers SC 3-0 Wakiso Giants FC

Champions Vipers SC made light work of neighbours Wakiso Giants FC in a 3-0 trumping at the St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende on Tuesday night.

In an electrifying atmosphere, Yunus Sentamu scored a stunning looping goal from the center, to headline arguably our performance of the season, so far.

Star midfielder Karim Watambala scored twice past the Purple Sharks in the derby, to make it three goals for him this season.

The Venoms, who took early dominance under the floodlights, grabbed a 14th-minute lead through a Watambala rocket of a shot to the top right corner, following a cutback from winger Abdu Lumala.

In the 16th minute, it should have been 2-0 for the Venoms, but Wakiso Giants’ goalkeeper Bashir Ssekagya dived to tame a Yunus Sentamu header after a brilliant Lumala cross.

Wakiso threatened in the 34th minute, but our young custodian Jack Komakech stood large to save a Samson Andrew Kigozi shot.

Into the second stanza, we probed with more precision and grit, and should have doubled our lead at the hour-mark through Watambala, but his stinging shot was met with an excellent Ssekagya save.

In the 66th minute though, with sublime technique from the center, Sentamu looped Ssekagya to make it 2-0 and to get the crowds off their feet.

It could easily have been 3-0 in the 74th minute, but the crossbar denied Sentamu, with the goalkeeper beaten before Lawal struck into the side-net.

Five minutes later, substitute and captain Milton Karisa’s powerful shot from a freekick was denied by another excellent Ssekagya save.

Right at the death, Watambala struck from the edge of the box off a Sentamu pass to make it 3-0 and two for him on an evening to remember.

We will hope to keep the momentum going in our subsequent game against KCCA FC at the MTN Omondi Stadium, Lugogo on November 10.

How We Lined Up:

Vipers SC XI: Jack Komakech (GK), Ashraf Mandela, Richard Matovu, Murushid Juuko, Patrick Mbowa, Siraje Ssentamu (C), Bright Anukani, Yunus Sentamu, Abdu Lumala Karim Watambala, Eric Kambale.

Substitutions: Denis Kiggundu, Mohamed Salem, Grant Matsiko, Abubakar Lawal, David Bagoole, Rodriguez Shamamba, Nzau Lutumba, Milton Karisa, Enock Luyima, Rogers Torach.