Fridays Result

UPDF FC 1-1 Vipers SC

In the Friday afternoon StarTimes Uganda Premier League bout, it’s the hosts that drew first blood through Ivan Ahimbisibwe in the first half before substitute Mucureezi equalized late in the second stanza.

Despite extending their point tally to 40 on the apex of the log, Vipers missed the opportunity of opening a six-point lead ahead of runners-up KCCA FC.

The latter will play fierce rival Onduparaka FC at the MTN Omondi Stadium, Lugogo on Saturday.

It’s the Venoms who began off the match on top, with a quick search for an early goal and nearly got it in the fifth minute, but Yunus Sentamu’s header off Disan Ggaliwango’s freekick sailed a few inches wide.

They continued to probe in quick succession but Cesar Manzoki and Ggaliwango both missed good opportunities in the 14th and 16th minute respectively.

At 27 minutes, Sentamu brilliantly crossed for Manzoki but his header went straight into goalkeeper Yusuf Wasswa’s gloves.

Five minutes later, Vipers unluckily missed breaking the deadlock after Miton Karisa’s fine header crashed against the crossbar.

However, it’s the hosts that grabbed the first goal of the afternoon through Ivan Ahimbisibwe’s 36th-minute penalty after Galiwango’s foul on the former.

Following a slow start to the second half by the Venoms with limited goalscoring opportunities, Karisa was released by substitute Mucureezi at the 66th-minute mark, but the former failed to get clean contact on the ball, as the chance went begging.

However, 15 minutes to the end of the match, Mucureezi leveled matters through a sumptuous freekick past Wasswa, but, the Venoms were unable to grind the victory.

The four-time league champions will hope to return to winning ways in the league in their next outing against Soltilo Bright Stars at St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende on March 2.

Meanwhile, eighth-placed UPDF who have 22 points will make a trip to Jinja to take on BUL FC a day earlier.

Vipers: Fabien Mutombora (GK), Emmanuel Munoobi, Hillary Mukundane, LivingstonMulondo, Halid Lwalilwa (c), Siraje Ssentamu, Najib Yiga, Milton Karisa, Cesar Manzoki, Yunus Sentamu

Substitutions: Jack Komakech (GK), Bob Oluoch, Musa Ssali, Frank ‘Zaga’ Tumwesigye, Denis Mwemezi, Dan Serunkuuma, Paul Mucureezi