Friday’s Result

Vipers SC 3-2 Police FC

Our quest to retain the StarTimes Uganda Premier League remained on course with yet another emphatic win on Friday.

After drawing in our previous outing against Kyetume FC, the Venoms fought hard not to slip against and eventually secured a 3-2 win over Police FC.

The game was a top of the table clash with our opponents coming into this fixture as table leaders on 16 points, one above us.

Despite a cagy beginning, Ibrahim Orit who netted a brace on the day and was eventually named man of the match fired us in the lead in the 21st minute.

A cross from left back Disan Galiwango found him inside the area and his low drive went past goalkeeper Derrick Ochan in goal for the visitors.

The Cops however replied instantly and levelled matters through Eric Ssenjobe’s header three minutes later.

Moments later, the visitors took the lead with Johnson Odong setting up Brian Muluuli Mayanja who drilled past goalkeeper Bashir Ssekagya.

Police were reduced to ten men, after goalie Ochan was sent off. The referee judged him to have handled the ball outside the goal area thus denying a goal scoring opportunity to Muhammad Shaban.

And upon consultation with the second assistant referee Juma Osire, the centre referee George Olemu took the decision to send off Ochan.

We went to the mandatory break trailing but the boys returned recharged and scored two goals to help the team win.

After the interval, the coach made the first change introducing Paul Mucureezi in place of David Bagoole.

Four minutes into the second stanza, Orit connected home a free-kick by Halid Lwaliwa in the 48th minute to make it 2-2.

Congolese striker Cesar Manzoki replaced Shaban in the 73rd minute and made an instant impact scoring the winner two minutes later.

It had been far from plain-sailing but the boys held on to claim maximum points as the team moved top of the table on 18 points and still remained unbeaten.

Vipers SC Starting XI:- Bashir Ssekagya, Paul Willa, Disan Galiwango, Bashir Asiku, Halid Lwaliwa, Siraje Sentamu, Ibrahim Orit, Karim Watambala, David Bagoole, Yunus Sentamu, Muhammad Shaban.

Copyright 2021 Vipers Sports Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source.