Aziz Kayondo and Bobosi Byaruhanga finally joined the Uganda U-20 Hippos in camp at the Cranes Paradise hotel in Kisaasi (a Kampala suburb) to continue preparations for the Africa Cup of Nations tournament that will be hosted in Mauritania.

The pair were named in the squad by head coach Morley Byekwaso over a week ago while they were still in Cameroon on National duty with the Uganda Cranes then.

Richard Basangwa shielding possession from KCCA’s Fadiga Mugume in a Hippos friendly.

However, upon elimination from the ongoing African Nations Championship (CHAN) in Cameroon, the Cranes returned on Saturday morning while Kayondo and Byaruhanga later joined the rest of the Hippos team.

The duo join fellow Vipers teammates; Richard Basangwa and Najib Yiga to complete the 33 man contingent that will travel on Monday (today) to play against Tanzania and Namibia in the Pre-AFCON Mini Tournament from February 2-9 before flying to Mauritania for the tournament proper.

Ivan Asaba alias ‘Di Maria’ who was named on squad didn’t not travel with the team to Dar es Salaam. It’s understood that he will join the team later.

Najib Yiga in action a recent U-20 friendly against KCCA FC at the MTN stadium, Lugogo.

Hippos are in Group A and will play against Mozambique in the first match on February 15. The second match will be on February 17 against Cameroon before going head-to-head with the hosts Mauritania in the last group match on February 20.

The team departs Entebbe International Airport for Dar es Salaam, Tanzania this morning at 8:00am aboard Uganda Airlines .

Full Contingent:


Komakech Jack (Ascent SA), Oyo Delton (Busoga United FC), Ssenyondwa Denis Kaala (SC Villa).


Kizito Mugweri Gavin (SC Villa), Semakula Kenneth (Busoga United FC), Musa Ramathan (KCCA FC), Kafumbe Joseph (KCCA FC), Begisa James Penz (UPDF FC), Baligeya Simon (Kibuli SS), Abdul Azizi Kayondo (Vipers SC).


Mugulusi Isma (Busoga United FC), Yiga Najib (Vipers SC), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers SC), Sserwadda Steven (KCCA FC), Eyamu Ivan (Mbarara City FC), Kawooya Andrew (KCCA FC), Asaba Ivan (Vipers SC), Ssekajja Davis (Bright Stars FC), Wabyoona Faisal (Big Talent SA).


Bogere Ivan (Proline FC), Ssenyonjo Samuel (KCCA FC), Kakooza Derrick (Police FC), Basangwa Richard (Vipers SC), Bukenya Joseph Kizza (KCCA FC), Ssali Alpha Thierry (Proline FC).

Copyright 2021 Vipers Sports Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source.