Five youngsters from Vipers Sports Club have been named in Uganda U-20 (Hippos) provisional squad to begin preparations for the forthcoming Africa Cup of Nations zonal qualifiers.

They include roving left back Aziz Kayondo, Bobosi Byaruhanga, Najib Yiga, Ivan Asaba and Richard Basangwa who make the 46 man squad summoned by head coach Morley Byekwaso.

It is the first time for Byaruhanga and Basangwa to be called on National duty and the pair is expected to use this opportunity well to make the final squad while the trio of Najib, Asaba and Kayondo has managed a couple of caps on the U-17 and U-20 team.

Basangwa and Yiga are some of the players that will feature for Vipers this coming season after being promoted from the academy.

Meanwhile, the U20 Hippos will first undergo a mandatory Covid-19 test before entering camp and thereafter embark on training at IUIU Campus, Kabojja before shifting to Fufa Technical Centre, Njeru.

Uganda is in group B alongside Burundi, Eritrea and South Sudan. The zonal qualifiers will be staged in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania from November 22 to December 6, 2020.



Jack Komakech (Ascent SA), Dennis Ssendyowa (SC Villa), Tonny Atugonza (Buddo SS), Delton Oyo (Busoga United FC), Joram Nsubuga (KCCA FC), Anthony Emojong (KCCA FC).


Joseph Kafumbe (KCCA FC), Aziz Kayondo (Vipers SC), Umar Lutalo (Aspire Academy), Robert Kitabalwa (St.Mary’s SS Kitende), John Rogers (Onduparaka FC), James Begisa (UPDF FC), Sammy Ssebaduka (Gil Vicente-Canada), Gavin Kizito Mugweri (SC Villa), Musa Ramathan (KCCA FC), Richard Bbosa (Express FC), Simon Baligeya (Busia Young FC), Kenneth Ssemakula (Busoga United FC), Shafik Mavuma (Standard High School).


William Sseguya (Kampala Junior Team), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers SC), Wilber Wamala (Kataka FC), Davis Ssekaja (Bright Stars FC), Swamad Okur (Kataka FC), Ivan Eyam (Mbarara City FC), Steven Sserwada (KCCA FC), Faisal Wabyona (Big Talent Academy), Ashraf Zzizinga (Kampala Junior Team), Andrew Kawooya (KCCA FC).


Isma Mugulusi(Busoga United FC), Ivan Asaba (Vipers SC), Joseph Kizza Bukenya (KCCA FC), Sunday Opio (KCCA FC), Godfrey Oyaka (KCCA FC), Najib Yiga (Vipers SC), Ashraf Mulindi (Kataka FC), Ivan Bogere (Proline FC), Emmanuel Mukisa (Kataka FC), Derrick Kakooza (Police FC), Samuel Ssenyonjo (KCCA FC), Derrick Onyai (Mbarara City FC), Frank Ssebufu (Buddo SS), Richard Basangwa (Vipers SC), Jamal Masiko (Malmo Fria Laroverken Swedish FA), Alpha Ssali (Proline FC), Rodney Kamya Ssali (Proline FC).

Copyright 2020 Vipers Sports Club plc. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to as the source.