Cecafa Senior Challenge Cup

Uganda v Burundi

StarTimes Stadium |December 7

Four of our players have been named on the Uganda Cranes squad for the upcoming Cecafa Senior Challenge Cup that gets underway tomorrow in Kampala. 

 After featuring heavily throughout qualification, Fahad Bayo along with Halid Lwaliwa are included in Jonathan McKinstry’s 20 man group for the tournament, which starts today (December 7) till December 19. 

Paul Willa and youngster Abdul Karim Watambala are also named as the Cranes aim to go further than their second runners up appearance in 2017. 

Bayo has been in the form of his life since joining us, netting 9 goals in 13 appearances throughout the first round of the Uganda Premier League. He opened the scores as the Cranes secured qualification to the 2020 Africa Nations Championship (CHAN) on a 6-0 aggregate over Burundi. 

Centre back Lwaliwa and right back Willa, the duo have enjoyed an impressive start to the season in our defence conceding only 7 goals in the first quarter. 

Youngster Watambala has also been in fine form since joining us from our Youth team at the start of this season. 

Meanwhile, our loanee at Maroons FC, Steven Mukwala who tops the scoring chart in the league with 10 goals made the cut to the final squad as well. 

Mckinstry’s side are in Group A alongside Burundi, Eriteria, Somalia and Djibouti, with the opener against the Burundians at StarTimes Stadium slated for today. The group winners plus best runner-up advance to the semifinals. 

Full Squad:

Goalkeepers:- Charles Lukwago (KCCA FC), Joel Mutakubwa (Kyetume FC). 

Defenders:- Paul Willa and Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers SC), John Revita and Mustafa Kizza (KCCA FC), Paul Mbowa (URA FC), Mustafa Mujuzi (Proline FC). 

Midfielders:- Abdul Karim Watambala (Vipers SC), Shafiq Kagimu and Joackim (URA FC), Nicholas Kasozi, Muzamiru Mutyaba, Allan Okello (all KCCA FC), Bright Anukani (Proline FC), Viane Ssekajugo (Wakiso Giants FC).

Forwards:- Fahad Bayo (Vipers SC), Ben Ocen (Police FC), Joel Madondo (Busoga United), Steven Mukwala (Maroons FC). 

Copyright 2019 Vipers Sports Club plc. Permission to use photos and quotations from this article is granted subject to appropriate credit being given to www.viperssc.co.ug as the source.