StarTimes Uganda Premier League

Friday’s Result

Maroons FC 1-1 Vipers SC

We wrapped up the first round in the StarTimes Uganda Premier League (UPL) but had to settle for a point against a resurgent Maroons FC at the Prison Grounds, Luzira this Friday evening.

The Venoms dominated possession in the starting minutes on a blustery evening but could not translate that into clear-cut chances and goals, requiring a penalty conversion from Fahad Bayo moment in the second half to grab a point after Fred Amaku had put Maroons FC in front as we headed into the breather.

The draw is hard to take in having collected one point from our two games but we showed character in avoiding defeat against a well-organised team that had chances to score.

The Venoms had been below par in the final third but had done enough to at least claim a point, with Paul Willa, Bayo, and substitute Brian Nkuubi all putting Maroons goalkeeper Hannington Ssebwalunnyo to work.

Without Steven Mukwala who leads the goal scoring charts so far, Maroons still had a lot in armoury and were the better side in the first half and deservedly got in front in the last minute of the first half.

Amaku capitalised on a loose defending from the Venoms’ backline to stab home.

We improved after the break more so with the introduction of speedy winger Denis Mwemezi but had to wait till the 61st minute to go level.

Bayo calmly slotted home and it appeared like we could carry the day with the striker twice coming close while goalkeeper Ssebwalunyo doing well to thwart Nkuubi’s effort from just outside the area.

It is not the result we wanted but, on the balance of the 90 minutes, was a fair one with Maroons having been on top for much of the first period and Vipers creating the better opportunities in the second.

It means we pick up our second away point of the campaign that takes us to 34 points, with plenty of positivity still buzzing around the St Mary’s Stadium, Kitende going into the second round of the UPL.

Vipers Starting XI

Fabien Mutombora, Paul Willa, Aziz Kayondo, Geoffrey Wasswa, Bashir Asiku, Rahmat Ssenfuka, Frank ‘Zaga’ Tumwesigye, Ashraf Mugume (Brian Nkuubi 79), Fahad Bayo, Abraham Ndugwa (Dan Sserunkuma 73), Allan Kayiwa (Denis Mwemezi 54).

Unused Subs | Derrick Ochan, Farouk Musisi, Brian Kalumba, Innocent Wafula.

Scorers: Bayo 61’

Booked: Bayo 63’, Frank ‘Zaga’ Tumwesigye 78’