StarTimes Uganda Premier League

Tuesday’s Result

Kyetume FC 1-2 Vipers SC

On form striker Fahad Bayo and Dan ‘Muzeyi’ Sserunkuma scored a goal apiece as we secured all three points against Kyetume FC on the road.

The duo combined well to lead us to victory at Mandela National stadium and help us maintain the grip at the top of the table. Kyetume FC pulled one back through Robert Ssentongo.

Coach Edward Golola made two changes from the team that played against Onduparaka FC over the weekend with Abdu Karim Watambala and Sserunkuma replacing Frank ‘Zaga’ Tumwesigye and Brian Kalumba respectively.

Bayo opened the score just 5 minutes heading home off Bashir Asiku’s cross from the right wing. This goal took his tally to seven in the league.

Eight minutes later, the robust striker went through on goal but he was brought down in the area by Kyetume FC defender Bernard Tahomera.

Sserunkuma did no mistake to double the lead converting the resultant penalty to score his second goal of the season.

A perfect start gave us momentum as we dominated proceedings. Even when our opponents made efforts to attack, the backline manned by skipper Halid Lwaliwa thwarted away any danger.

Bayo would have made it 3-0 in the 28th minute mark when Sserunkuma’s pass beat two defenders to let him through on goal but the former failed to round off goalkeeper Joel Mutakubwa.

In the second stanza, the home side stepped up efforts and made several inroads. Robert Ssentongo pulled one back for Kyetume FC in the 55th minute following a poor communication in our defence.

There were several changes made with Ashraf Mugume, Ibrahim Tembo and Abraham Ndugwa replacing Watambala, Bobos Byaruhanga and Allan Kayiwa in that order.

The win means, the Venoms maintain their lead at the top of the table on 24 points.

Our next game will be a trip to the Mighty Arena to face Busoga United FC on Saturday.

Vipers SC Starting XI

Fabien Mutombora, Paul Willa, Aziz Kayondo, Bashir Asiku, Halid Lwaliwa, Siraje Ssentamu, Abdu Karim Watambala (Ashraf Mugume), Bobos Byaruhanga (Ibrahim Tembo), Allan Kayiwa (Abraham Ndugwa), Dan ‘Muzeyi’ Sserunkuma, Fahad Bayo.


Derrick Ochan, Ibrahim Tembo, Geoffrey Wasswa, Ashraf Mugume, Abraham Ndugwa, Brian Nkuubi.