Vipers Sports Club ended the first round of the StarTimes Uganda Premier League the only team yet to suffer defeat following a one all draw against Mbarara City FC on Sunday.

The game played at St. Mary’s stadium saw the Venoms take the lead through Dan Sserunkuma but the visitors rallied back in the second half with Paul Mucureezi scoring the equalizer.

Coach Michael Nam Ouma made only one change from the team that drew one all against URA FC on Friday with Henry Katongole starting ahead of Yayo Lutimba.

Katongole was making his debut since joining us from SC Villa at the start of the season and partnered Livingstone Mulondo in centre back.

This meant that utility player Geoffrey Wasswa started at left back position ahead of Lutimba who started on bench.

The Venoms were the better side in the opening stages of the game and it was not surprising that Sserunkuma gave us the lead in the 17th minute.

The ever reliable striker was well positioned to slot home from Tito Okello’s brushed header.

Right back Ibrahim Kiyemba made the donkey work before crossing the ball into the area. His cross was brushed into Sserunkuma’s path and the latter did no mistake to fire home.

Okello came close to doubling the lead in the 22nd minute but his strike went off target.

Innocent Wafula was a thorn in the flesh for Mbarara City FC with his runs on the right while Taddeo Lwanga and Rahmat Ssenfuka were efficient in midfield.

However, the visitors levelled matters seven minutes into the second half through Mucureezi who was quick to tap home at the near post.

In a bid to regain the lead, the coach opted to make changes, first introducing Abraham Ndugwa for Okello. Later on Duncan Sseninde replaced Ssenfuka.

Despite stepping up efforts in the closing minutes, the game eventually ended in a one all draw. The Venoms remain second on the log with 31 points.

The team’s unbeaten run extends to 32 games since our last league loss to URA FC in November 2017.

Vipers SC Starting XI

  • Fabien Mutombora
  • Ibrahim Kiyemba
  • Geoffrey Wasswa
  • Henry Katongole
  • Livingstone Mulondo
  • Taddeo Lwanga
  • Moses Waiswa
  • Rahmat Ssenfuka (Duncan Sseninde)
  • Dan Sserunkuma
  • Tito Okello (Abraham Ndugwa)
  • Innocent Wafula