Five players from Vipers Junior Team have been summoned to the Uganda U20 National team (Hippos).

Gavin Kizito Mugweri, winger Ivan Asaba and striker Najib Yiga are part of the 31 man provisional squad released by FUFA on Thursday. The others include Andrew Kawooya and Yasin Abdul Otwane.

Mugweri captained the Cubs (U17) to winning the regional tournament hence booking a ticket to the U17 Africa Cup of Nations.

The team summoned will feature in the U20 CECAFA tournament that will be hosted in Uganda (Gulu and Jinja) between 14th-21st January 2019.

The players will enter residential camp on Friday at FUFA technical centre in Njeru before the team is trimmed to the final list of 20.

The core of the team that featured in the U17 CECAFA championship last year has been retained with 18 players earning a call.

Full Squad:

  • Delton Oyo (Kirinya-Jinja S.S JT)
  • Jack Komakech (Ndejje University JT)
  • Daniel Ssemwogerere (Bright Stars JT)
  • Eric Kaweesi (URA FC JT


  • John Rogers (Onduparaka JT)
  • Kevin Ssekimbega (Express JT)
  • Jonathan Gift Odong (Kakungulu Memorial)
  • Innocent Opiro (Ndejje University JT)
  • Ibrahim Juma (KCCA SA)
  • Gavin Kizito Mugweri (Vipers JT)
  • Yasin Mukiibi (Kataka)
  • Samson Kasozi (Bright Stars JT)
  • Midfielders
  • Ronnie Ziraba (Express JT)
  • Shafik Waswanga (Ndejje University JT)
  • Ibrahim Ekellot (KCCA SA)
  • John Kokas Alou (URA JT)
  • Thomas Kakaire (Bright Stars JT)
  • Polycarp Mwaka (Ndejje University JT)
  • Andrew Kawooya (Vipers JT)


  • Ivan Asaba (Vipers SC JT)
  • Yasin Abdul Owane (Vipers JT)
  • Isma Mugulusi (Kirinya-Jinja S.S JT)
  • Derrick Lubega (Express JT)
  • Owen Mukisa (BUL JT)


  • Iddi Abdul Wahid (Onduparaka JT)
  • Najib Yiga (Vipers JT)
  • George Opio (Luzira FC)
  • Rogers Mugisha (Mbarara City JT)
  • James Jarieko (Paidha Black Angels JT)