Striker Dan ‘Muzeeyi’ Sserunkuma was the hero for us on Sunday as the Venoms edged Police FC to maintain the title hunt alive.

Sserunkuma came off the bench in the second half to score the all-important goal that guided the team to victory and move to second place on the log with 21 points, three behind the table leaders KCCA FC but with a game in hand.

Lethal: Dan Sserunkuma celebrates with his teammates after scoring against Police FC. Vipers Photo

The win was timely as we prepare to make the trip to Algeria ahead of the first leg against CS Constantine in the CAF Champions League.

Manager Javier Martinez Espinosa made several changes from the team that played against El Merreikh on Wednesday.

Line Up: Vipers Starting XI against Police FC. Vipers Photo

Aggrey Madoi started at left back ahead of Yayo Lutimba who was not included in today’s squad. Moses Waiswa fresh from winning the Fufa MVP Award was rested as well.

Rahmat Ssenfuka, Davis Kasirye, Brian Kalumba and Tom Masiko all started the game.

Despite being the better side in the first stanza, we failed to break past Police FC who remained composed at the back.

Duncan Sseninde came close to scoring before halftime but his ferocious strike went just wide.

Deserving: Sserunkuma was awarded with the MOTM Award. Vipers Photo

In the second stanza, the coach made two changes introducing Tito Okello and Joseph Jjanjali for Masiko and Kasirye respectively.

He later on introduced Sserunkuma for Sseninde in the 75th minute and his impact was immediately felt.

The diminutive forward paid off dividends scoring two minutes later finishing from inside the box to send the fans into wild celebrations.

The lethal forward put the visitors under immense pressure after and had more attempts at goal.

The win means we are still unbeaten in the league this season.

Vipers SC Starting XI

  • Bashir Ssekagya
  • Geoffrey Wasswa
  • Aggrey Madoi
  • Livingstone Mulondo
  • Halid Lwaliwa
  • Taddeo Lwanga
  • Rahmat Ssenfuka
  • Brian Kalumba
  • Duncan Sseninde (DanSserunkuma)
  • Tom Masiko (Joseph Jjanjali)
  • Davis Kasirye (Tito Okello)